Posted in Uncategorized

A Real Imaginary Friend #dailypost #ebola

Liberia

 

My<a href=”http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/imaginary-friend/”>Imaginary Friend</a>  is a real person that I have never met

She and I were pen pals when we were children

She lived in Monrovia Liberia and I lived in Monrovia California

We became friends because I had a dream of working as a doctor in her country

she had a dream of living in LA and being an actress

Life goes on and paths diverge

I had several scheduled trips to Africa to see her

the first was when I was 13

at the last-minute we cancelled our trip

she and I cried

then I had a trip to meet with radio people about the work I was doing for children

we were finally going to meet

Then my little girl ended up in the hospital

she almost died

the money for my Africa  trip was spent on her care

my dream of going to Liberia and meeting my pen pal drifted out into the sea

Last week I got a letter from a friend:

“Your pen pal died of Ebola

her family is all gone

all except her little grandson

he seems to be immune to the disease

he has no one”

He is an orphan in Monrovia and all I can do is write this on a blog!

 

 

 

The prompt today at WordPress daily post is Imaginary Friend

Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today? (Didn’t have one? write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood.)

This work of fiction is riddled with fact. This blog is written with love  for the orphans in Liberia. ~L. Moon

Author:

This is a project with one objective to help orphans of Ebola.

2 thoughts on “A Real Imaginary Friend #dailypost #ebola

  1. I’m sorry for your loss, and I’m sorry that I had no way to show sympathy for the situation other than clicking the like button to show sympathy and posting a comment. It is heartbreaking to hear of the tragedy unfolding; to actually know someone affected by it, well I can’t imagine anything more horrible. Sending a hug to you and to this little boy. I hope he survives being an orphan in this terrible time.

    Like

Leave a comment